The University of Southampton

4 new OSA Fellows Announced

Published: 19 January 2006

The University of Southampton’s status as a leading international centre for photonics research has been highlighted this week, with four of its senior academics being awarded Fellowships by the Optical Society of America (OSA). The OSA is the premier international learned society for scientists working in optics and photonics, and is behind the top academic journals and conferences in this field. The appointment of four Fellows at a single institution is a highly unusual event.

The Fellowships have been awarded to Professors Anne Tropper and Jeremy Baumberg from the School of Physics and Astronomy, Professor Andy Clarkson from the Optoelectronics Research Centre and Professor Harvey Rutt from the School of Electronics and Computer Science.

‘These awards recognise the outstanding achievements of these four new Fellows in their diverse areas in optical research and their potential for future discovery,’ commented Professor Joe Hammond, Dean of the University’s Faculty of Engineering, Science and Mathematics. ‘The fact that these awards cover three University schools demonstrates the collaborative and multi-disciplinary approach needed when moving forward in photonics.’

Southampton has strong links to the OSA, and is home to their largest student chapter. Professor David Hanna, Deputy Director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton, Fellow and a former Director-at-large of the OSA, expressed his enthusiastic welcome.

‘I’m very pleased to see my colleagues recognised in this way, as it is very well deserved,’ said Professor Hanna. ‘I hope that this will further reinforce the bonds we have with the OSA, and promote the increasing internationalisation of the organisation.’

More Information:

Articles that may also interest you

Share this article FacebookGoogle+TwitterWeibo

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.